This poor baby boy is already the victim of second-child-syndrome! You know, the one where the first baby has thousands upon thousands of photos and Mama kept a very detailed journal of every little thing, both the funny and the mundane...and the second child is lucky to get a photo a month and his first word written in the baby book! Oh, well...he's a boy so maybe he won't care as much as if he were a girl? He's just as loved and wanted as his big sister, of course!
Today I had some serious nesting energy built up, apparently. I dropped Miss N off at her mother's day out/preschool program, headed to the chiropractor, went to Target to see if I could find a pair of maternity jeans that fit (I didn't, and didn't want to drop $33+ on a pair of jeans I'd only wear for 6-8 weeks), then came home and lay down for a half-hour trying to take an early nap, but never did fall asleep. So I got up and started puttering. I put a load of laundry in the dryer and put a wrap in the washer. I loaded and ran the dishwasher and once that was done and ALL of the dishes in the whole house were actually clean for a brief moment in time, I finally cleared out all of our plastic ware...if it was supposed to be a sealable container and didn't have a corresponding lid, or vice versa, I pitched it. I actually ended up with way more lids than containers, who knows where the open containers.
There's something about having all of my dishes clean that makes me want to bake. I would cook and bake all day long if I didn't feel guilty about the mess I leave behind. I was going to say, "if I had someone to clean up after me," but Brad almost always does all of the dishes every day, so I DO have someone cleaning up after me, but I feel guilty for making such a mess at times.
I had four very over-ripe bananas that needed to be dealt with, so I cut 2/3 of one up into chunks and put it in the freezer along with some strawberries so I'd have ingredients for Miss N's smoothies I make for her. Then I decided I'd make banana bread. And then I realized that my Kitchen Aid mixer bowl was in the refrigerator with Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day bread dough that was about 10 days old, so I took that out, added some flour, put it on a baking stone to rest, and then hand washed the mixer bowl so I could start on the banana bread.
After that was done, I started making tomatillo salsa by boiling about a pound of tomatillos, some onions, some garlic cloves, and some salt for 10 minutes. Then I chopped the tomatillos and garlic and put it all in a bowl with some lime juice and a little more salt. It wasn't all that fantastic and I need to keep experimenting. I mean, it was OK but wasn't FABULOUS like I wanted it to be. Maybe next time I'll roast the tomatillos instead.
After that was done, it was time to go pick up Miss N. On our way home I realized I hadn't eaten lunch so I drove through a couple of different places to satisfy a couple of different pregnancy cravings. Miss N and I sat at the table and ate a snack - she's always ravenous in the afternoons after preschool. Then she wanted to watch her new Veggie Tales movie so I let her while I put the artisan bread into the oven.
After that was done, I was beyond exhausted so I just sat on the couch the rest of the evening, fixed dinner for Miss N at 5:30 and then put her to bed at a little after 6 pm. It's an early bedtime because she didn't nap at school and really needed to just go to bed, even though it may mean she's wide awake and ready to go at 6 am, which means I do NOT need to stay up until midnight tonight!
I have many more things on my mental nesting list in my head, hopefully I'll get lots of energy bursts between now and Keiki's arrival so that I get it all done! My mom is supposed to come spend next weekend with us and promised to help me organize things like my baking cabinet and my kitchen pantry, so I'm looking forward to that.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment